About Us

In 1952, Delhi was made a self-governing Part ā€˜Cā€™ State with Legislative Assembly and a Council of Ministers.  The States Reorganisation Commission (SRC) set up in December, 1953 concluded that the division of responsibility between the Centre and State Government of Delhi had not only hampered the development of the Capital, but had also resulted in a marked deterioration in the administration and standards.  The Commission wanted Delhi as the National Capital to remain under the effective control of the National Government. However, it did provide for the formation of a Municipal Corporation to meet the self governance needs for its inhabitants.  This led to the enactment of Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957 notified on 26th December, 1959. 

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi was constituted by amalgamation of the all the earlier bodies viz., Notified Area Committees and District Boards.  The functions of the Delhi joint Water and Sewage Board constituted in 1926, Delhi State Electricity Board constituted in 1951 and the Delhi Road Transport Authority constituted in 1950 were also transferred to the Municipal Corporation  under the statutory Committees, viz, Delhi Water Supply and Sewage Disposal Committee, Delhi Electricity Supply Committee and Delhi Transport Undertaking as provided in the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act 1957.

The Constitution (Sixty-ninth Amendment) Act, 1991 and the Constitution (74th Amendment) Act, 1992 brought about qualitative change in the governance of Delhi. The former accorded special dispensation to Delhi by allowing Legislative Assembly and the Council of Ministers and giving them powers in respect of the subjects enumerated in the State List and Concurrent List in so far as any such matter is applicable to Union territories  except matters with respect to Entries 1, 2 and 18 of the State List (relating to Public Order, Police and Land )and Entries 64, 65 and 66 of that List in so far as they relate to the said Entries 1, 2, and 18. And under the latter, the urban local bodies came to be constitutional entities with sufficient autonomy to decide local issues with the active participation of local residents.

Accordingly, a number of amendments were carried out in the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957 through Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1993. The subjects of generation and distribution of electricity, water supply, drainage and sewage disposal were taken away from the Corporation and transferred to the autonomous boards, viz, Delhi Vidyut Board, Delhi Jal Board in 1996 and 1998 respectively.  The Fire services were also transferred to the Delhi Government. (The Transport services were taken away from the jurisdiction of the Corporation in 1971 itself  and assigned to the Delhi Transport Corporation created under the Road Transport Corporation Act, 1950.)

Even with these amendments, the Delhi Corporation Act, 1957 turned outmoded and with the passage of time and need was felt to bring its provisions in tune with the new realities.

Further, with the phenomenal growth of population of Delhi from 2.65 million in 1961 to 16.7 million in 2011, the provision made in the Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, 1957 for only one Corporation for the entire Delhi (excluding the NDMC and the Cantonment areas) became  obsolete and the need was felt for bringing the Corporation in proximity to the people it is supposed to deliver services.

It was in the above background that the Government of NCT of Delhi felt the need for making a new Law for the municipal government for Delhi. The Government constituted a Committee of Experts under the Chairmanship of Shri K. Dharmarajan, Retired IAS Officer, to make recommendations for a new Delhi Municipal Corporation Act, vide its Order No.F.13(96)/2009 dated 26th February, 2010.

Chief Minister
<Shri Arvind Kejriwal
Importent link
Last Updated : 23 Mar,2014